With the 2020 seasons finally under way for all IMSA-sanctioned series, let’s take a quick look at the points leaders in each:

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship

Daytona Prototype international (DPi)

No. 10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R – Ryan Briscoe and Renger van der Zande

Four races into the season, van der Zande and Briscoe — who co-drove to victory in January’s Rolex 24 At Daytona — lead the No. 5 Mustang Sampling/JDC-Miller MotorSports Cadillac duo of Joao Barbosa and Sebastien Bourdais by six points, 124-118. No. 55 Mazda Motorsports RT-24P co-drivers Oliver Jarvis and Tristan Nunez are third in the standings with 117 points.


No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA LMP2 07

No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA 07 – Cameron Cassels

Cassels, the 2019 Jim Trueman Award winner for being the top sportsman driver in the LMP2 class, stands atop the 2020 WeatherTech Championship standings after two of seven points-paying LMP2 races. He’s currently one point ahead of No. 52 PR1-Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA driver Patrick Kelly and three ahead of Henrik Hedman of the No. 81 DragonSpeedUSA squad. No. 18 Era Motorsport ORECA co-drivers Kyle Tilley and Dwight Merriman are right in the mix as well, just four points behind Cassels.

GT Le Mans (GTLM)

No. 3 Corvette Racing Corvette C8.R

No. 3 Corvette Racing Chevrolet Corvette C8.R – Jordan Taylor and Antonio Garcia

Riding a streak of three consecutive GTLM podiums, including victories in last month’s IMSA WeatherTech 240 At Daytona and at Road America on Aug. 2, Taylor and Garcia find themselves atop the WeatherTech Championship standings by 10 points over 2019 champions Earl Bamber and Laurens Vanthoor in the No. 912 Porsche GT Team 911 RSR-19. Co-drivers of the No. 4 Corvette, Tommy Milner and Oliver Gavin, are third in the standings with 117 points, buoyed by their victory in the Cadillac Grand Prix of Sebring.

GT Daytona (WeatherTech Championship and WeatherTech Sprint Cup)

No. 14 AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3

No. 14 AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 – Jack Hawksworth and Aaron Telitz

Hawksworth stands alone atop the overall WeatherTech Championship GTD points table with 87 points by virtue of the fact that Telitz drove the team’s No. 12 Lexus in the Rolex 24 At Daytona before moving to the No. 14 machine for the second round of the season, the IMSA WeatherTech 240 At Daytona. Speaking of the No. 12 Lexus, Hawksworth leads that car’s co-drivers, Townsend Bell and Frankie Montecalvo, by a single point, 87-86, in the full WeatherTech Championship standings. In WeatherTech Sprint Cup, Hawksworth and Telitz share the lead thanks in large part to back-to-back victories at Daytona and Sebring last month. They have a seven-point advantage over Montecalvo and Bell in the Sprint Cup standings, 100-93.

IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge

Grand Sport (GS)

No. 39 CarBahn with Peregrine racing Audi R8 GT4

No. 39 CarBahn with Peregrine Racing Audi R8 GT4 – Tyler McQuarrie and Jeff Westphal

Through three IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge races, 2019 GS champions McQuarrie and Westphal are successfully defending their title. The duo, which won last month at Sebring, currently holds a three-point advantage in the point standings over No. 60 KohR Motorsports Aston Martin co-drivers Nate Stacy and Kyle Marcelli, with No. 35 Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4 co-drivers Jim Cox and Dylan Murry — who won January’s season opener at Daytona — sitting third, eight points behind the leaders.

Touring Car (TCR)

No. 21 Bryan Herta Autosport w/ Curb Agajanian Hyundai Veloster N TCR

No. 21 Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian Hyundai Veloster N TCR – Harry Gottsacker and Mark Wilkins

Last year, Wilkins claimed the TCR title co-driving a BHA Hyundai with Michael Lewis. This year, he and the team are leading the standings again alongside new-for-2020 co-driver Gottsacker. They won at Sebring last month and finished third at Road America, giving them a five-point advantage over their teammates, Gabby Chaves and Ryan Norman, who won at Road America in the No. 33 Hyundai.

IMSA Prototype Challenge

No. 64 K2R Motorsports Ligier JS P3

No. 64 K2R Motorsports Ligier JS P3 – Naveen Rao and Matt Bell

At the halfway point in the IMSA Prototype Challenge season, Rao and Bell have ridden their pair of podiums at Daytona and Sebring to the top of the point standings. They’re two points ahead of Dakota Dickerson, who has finished fourth or better in all three races so far aboard the No. 54 MLT Motorsports Norma, and 10 points ahead of 2019 champions Forty7 Motorsports and No. 47 Norma M30 co-drivers JJ Jorge and Joel Janco. David and Keith Grant lead the Bronze Cup driver standings.

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama

No. 16 Jeff Kingsley and No. 53 Riley Dickinson lead the GT3 Cup Challenge USA field.

No. 16 Kelly-Moss Road and Race Porsche – Jeff Kingsley and No. 53 Moorespeed Porsche – Riley Dickinson

Two races into the 2020 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama season brings a tie atop the Platinum Cup driver standings, with Race 1 winner Kingsley and Race 2 winner Dickinson each sitting on 67 points by virtue of their second-place finishes in the races they didn’t win at the Road America season-opening weekend. Alan Metni leads the Platinum Masters class for drivers 45 years of age and over, while Curt Swearingin stands atop the Gold Cup standings for 911 GT3 Cup race cars built between 2014 and 2016.

Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America

No. 16 Change Racing Lamborghini Huracan leads No. 6 US RaceTronics Lamborghini Huracan at Road America.

No. 16 Change Racing – Bryan Sellers and Madison Snow and No. 6 US RaceTronics Jacob Eidson and Steven Aghakhani

It’s a two-way tie atop the Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America PRO driver standings also after last weekend’s season-opening doubleheader at Road America. Bryan Sellers and Madison Snow co-drove the No. 16 Lamborghini Huracan Super Trofeo EVO representing Lamborghini Charlotte to victory in the first race of the weekend, with Steven Aghakhani and Jacob Eidson taking the Race 2 win in the No. 6 US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Beverly Hills entry. Both cars finished second in the race they didn’t win over the weekend, hence the tie. Corey Lewis and McKay Snow are leading the PRO-AM championship with back-to-back class wins at Road America, while Victor Gomez IV leads the AM driver standings and Randy Sellari sits atop the LB Cup championship.

Ferrari Challenge North America

Cooper MacNeil – No. 63 Ferrari

No. 63 Ferrari 488 Challenge EVO – Cooper MacNeil

MacNeil has had a perfect season thus far in Ferrari Challenge North America, winning all six races so far — as well as taking all six pole positions and setting all six fastest race laps. As a result, he holds a commanding, 46-point lead in the Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli standings over Ross Chouest. Dave Musial leads the way in Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli AM, with Jay Schreibman atop the Ferrari Challenge Coppa Shell standings, Justin Wetherill leading Coppa Shell AM, Eileen Bildman heading the Coppa Ladies standings and Jim Booth topping the Coppa Shell Gentleman standings.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here